Surprise!

DSC_0488

I’m sprawled out on Saige’s bed, writing a history report for school. 9th grade is tough. The contents of my backpack are spread everywhere.

DSC_0489

Mom calls my name. “Tracy!” I slide off the bed and head towards the sound.

DSC_0490

I enter the living room where Mom is waiting. “I have something for you,” she tells me.

What could it be? I wonder. A new phone case? A call from my teacher saying that I’m obviously the smartest kid in class?

DSC_0491

Mom hands me a package wrapped in brown paper. “Surprise!” she sings.

DSC_0492

I take it from her.

DSC_0493

What could it be? I think again as I sit down. It’s definitely not anything I had guessed. Way too heavy for a phone case. And you don’t wrap up phone calls.

DSC_0494

“Open it!” Mom encourages me. So I tear a little hole at the bottom.

DSC_0495

And then I tear a little more. All of sudden, I know what it is.

DSC_0496

I unwrap the rest of it and hold her up.

“A doll.”

DSC_0497

I rip her out of the box.

DSC_0498

I jump up and twirl around the room with her, laughing all the while.

DSC_0499

I’m staring into her sweet hazel eyes when Mom asks nervously, “Do you like her? I mean, I know you’re fourteen, and dolls might not be your thing , but –“

I interrupt her. “She’s perfect,” I assure her. I hope I sound as excited as I feel!

DSC_0500

I go back to my room with my new doll in one hand and her book tucked under my other arm.

DSC_0501

I push my school supplies out of the way and sit down. Homework can wait!

DSC_0502

I try her name out. “Rebecca,” I whisper.

DSC_0503

I head over to a dresser where I know some hair supplies are kept.

DSC_0504

I dig around in the second drawer until I find it: a small purple comb.

DSC_0505

I go back to Rebecca, armed with a comb and squirt bottle.

DSC_0506

Then I set to work on her curls.

DSC_0507

I hug her against my chest, then hold her back and whisper, “I love you, Rebecca.”

11 thoughts on “Surprise!

Leave a reply (Your email won't be published).

