Victorian Beauties ~Part 1~

 

My long-awaited (OK, maybe not) mini-photostory series is here! Before we get started, just a little thank you to Liz for doing a Victorian hairstyles post, and to my friend Issy, who inspired me for the plot 🙂

*

DSC_0001

My name is Rosilia Knight, and this story takes place in the days leading up to, and on, my fifteenth birthday.

I was out riding Cloud Shimmer, my horse, when I heard a scream.

DSC_0004

“ROSILIA!”

It was my eight year old sister, Sylvia, who was full of mischief.

DSC_0005

Her screaming startled Cloud Shimmer, and she reared, unseating me in the process.

DSC_0006

“Oof!” I exclaimed as I hit the ground.

DSC_0010

Sylvia ran over to me as I sat up. “You were riding like a man!” she gasped.

DSC_0012

I got up an snagged Cloud Shimmer’s reins as she pranced nervously. “I can’t help it,” I told Sylvia. “Riding side saddle is such a bother! It’s much easier to ride like a man.”

DSC_0013

But Sylvia wasn’t done trying to make me feel bad. “But you know it’s wrong!” she continued. “I’m telling Mother.,” she said.

DSC_0015

I swung up into the saddle to continue my ride. “No! You wouldn’t!”

DSC_0017

“Oh yes I would!” she replied.

DSC_0018

“If you do, I’ll tell William that you’re sweet on him!” I said. I was running out of options. Mother couldn’t know!

DSC_0019

Horror flashed across Sylvia’s face, and then she fled.

DSC_0020

I gently nudged Cloud Shimmer with my heels and continued on my ride, thinking that I had won.

*

DSC_0021

Sylvia knocked three times on the door to our mother, Anastasia’s, bedroom.

“Come in,” called a voice from inside.

DSC_0022

Sylvia found Mother on her balcony, looking at a scrapbook.

DSC_0023

She was staring lovingly down at a picture of a man. And that man was my father. And he was dead.

DSC_0024

Mother quickly closed the scrapbook as Sylvia came in.

DSC_0025

“Mother!” Sylvia exclaimed. “Rosilia was riding her horse like a man!”

DSC_0026

Mother shook her head. “That girl. She’s so much like Henry; always doing what her heart says is right, and not listening to what I’ve taught her,” Mother said with a sigh.

DSC_0028

“Mustn’t we punish her?” Sylvia asked. “You can’t let her go on with this!”

DSC_0027

Mother laughed. “Sometimes it is hard to remember you are only eight — you like being in charge, don’t you, Sylvia?”

DSC_0030

Sylvia nodded. “Yes, indeed. Rosilia acts younger than me! I know that proper ladies ride sidesaddle,” Sylvia said. “Speaking of proper ladies . . . couldn’t we make Rosilia take lessons for a punishment? It doesn’t exactly sound like one, but she does hate what they would have her learn!”

DSC_0029

Mother considered this for a moment. “That is a very good idea. I think we shall do that. Lessons for Rosilia it is!”

~~~~~~~~

What’d ya think? Liking it so far? I can’t wait to continue this series! Here are some bonus pictures . . .

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0011

DSC_0014

🙂

Bye!

-Loren

20 thoughts on “Victorian Beauties ~Part 1~

  1. Love it, great job!! She must have a concussion because she fell off… I know because all my sisters have had a lot of concussions :/ But if you have a hard impact you must have a concussion…. not always though!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Victorian Beauties ~Part 2~ | Happy House of AG

  3. Pingback: Victorian Beauties ~Part 3~ | Happy House of AG

Leave a reply (Your email won't be published).

