Trimming the Tree

DSC_0941

I had just opened a box of Christmas ornaments when Tracy walked in.

DSC_0942

Her eyes darted from me to the tree.

DSC_0943

I pulled a pink glittery ornament from the box and stood up.

DSC_0944

“We don’t have a tree,” Tracy said.

DSC_0945

“Oh yeah? Then what’s this?” I demanded.

DSC_0946

Tracy stared at the tinsel and plastic two-foot-tall tree. “Where did we get a tree?” she asked.

DSC_0947

“You mean, when, darling,” I corrected, plunking the ornament on a branch.

DSC_0948

“Yeah, yeah, yeah.” She picked up a shiny blue ball. “When, where, whatever!”

DSC_0949

“Well, if you must know . . .” I placed a glitter bauble on the tree.

DSC_0950

“Yes . . .?”

DSC_0951

“Mom picked it up from Target two days ago. The tree was only $8! That’s a sweet deal.”

Then we got back to decorating.

DSC_0952

Soon the whole family was decorating the tree.

DSC_0953

Tracy was set on grouping all the red ornaments together. “They’re all friends,” she explained. But I finally got her to spread the ornaments out. I simply said that they had been cooped up together for a year (which wasn’t strictly true. We had only gotten them on Wednesday). What if she had been stuck in a small room for a year with me? I asked.

Tracy shuddered at the thought of spending a whole entire year with me. She  immediately put the red ones far away from each other.

DSC_0954

Soon the ornament box was empty!

DSC_0955

I picked up the star topper and stood on tip-toe to reach the top of the tree.

DSC_0956

But I couldn’t reach it!

DSC_0957

I stood on a box, but that didn’t really help much.

DSC_0958

“Uh, Tracy?”

DSC_0959

As soon as she got near enough, I jumped on her shoulders.

DSC_0960

Reaching, reaching . . .

DSC_0961

Tracy got a mouthful of Christmas tree (:D).

DSC_0962

But I finally got the star on the tree!

DSC_0963

Then we turned the lights on. It was beautiful!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And here’s our Days Till Christmas for today!

20 days till Christmas:

Make time to catch up with a friend you haven’t seen in a while!

DSC_0938

DSC_0939

~~~~~~~~

Ella’s post inspired me to go out and buy a tree for my dolls 🙂

Happy holidays,

Loren

7 thoughts on “Trimming the Tree

  1. Pingback: Flashback — December 2014 | Happy House of AG

Leave a reply (Your email won't be published).

