Bonding with a Cave of Despair Escapee

*You can start thinking about What’s Up Wednesday now 🙂 *

DSC_1477

I sat on Tracy’s bed, gazing longingly at a mermaid figurine Mom and Dad had given to me just days before they died. I hadn’t know that it was the last thing they would ever give me.

DSC_1478

It brought back so many memories — Mom, Dad, my sister and friends.

DSC_1479

I was about to have a complete meltdown when I heard the door open downstairs. I stashed the figurine with the rest of my stuff and went to investigate.

DSC_1480

Hurrying across the room was the last person I expected to see: Saige!

DSC_1481

“Woah! Saige! Slow down, would ya? I haven’t seen you since New Years! Where are you going?” I exclaimed.

DSC_1482

“Oh, hi Savannah! I was just going to the art room,” she said.

DSC_1483

Then she gasped and grabbed my hand. “Oooh, I have an idea!”

I groaned. Uh oh. Saige had an idea.

“You can come with me! We can do that ‘bonding’ thing that Caro wants us to do.”

And with that I found myself being towed across the house to the “art room.”

DSC_1485

The art room was actually very small.

And I said so.

DSC_1486

“The art room is kinda small, don’t you think, Saige?”

DSC_1487

“It’s the perfect size for one person to create in,” she said as she started putting the contents of the art room onto a tray, “but maybe not two.”

DSC_1488

She handed me a small table and I followed her out the door.

“Where are we going?” I asked.

“To the bigger art room!” replied Saige with a grin.

DSC_1489

Saige set the tray down on a table when we got to the bigger art room.

DSC_1490

The bigger art room actually was quite bigger. It had two tables in it, a chair, and some supplies were on one of the tables.

DSC_1491

“OK, so what do we do now?” I asked.

DSC_1492

Saige picked up an apron. “Put this on,” she instructed.

DSC_1493

As Saige tied the apron on, I started to feel, just a tiny bit, that I might actually belong here after all.

DSC_1494

Saige spread out some supplies on the table behind us.

DSC_1495

 “One of the reasons I left the Cave of Despair,” Saige began, “was because I wanted to try out these new paints!”

“What’s another reason?” I asked.

“Izzy. . . “

DSC_1496

“Oh, and I also wanted to use these crayons,” she continued.

DSC_1497

Soon Saige had set up a canvas and her painting things.

DSC_1498

“What are you gonna do, Savannah?” she asked me as she wet her brush.

DSC_1499

I shrugged. “I’m not very artistic, but I guess I’ll draw something with the crayons.”

DSC_1500

I grabbed a piece of paper and started drawing.

DSC_1501

After half in hour of being creative in silence, we each had something. That’s mine.

DSC_1502

“Woah! It’s so pretty,” Saige complimented.

DSC_1503

Then she turned her easel around so I could see her painting.

DSC_1504

“Um . . . what . . . is that?” I asked after a moment of stunned silence.

DSC_1505

“It’s you, ” Saige replied with a little smile.

My guess is that she had been expecting my reaction.

DSC_1506

“Wait . . . WHAT?!” I exclaimed, my voice rising. “You think I look like a faded rainbow???”

DSC_1507

She looked at her painting again. “I might just call it that,” she mused. ” ‘The Faded Rainbow.’ “

DSC_1508

“Explain, por favor?” I demanded.

DSC_1509

“Well, I was just painting what I saw,” she told me.

DSC_1510

“Right now, you’re this.” She pointed to the faded rainbow.

DSC_1511

“But with some love –” she pointed to the heart “– you’ll become the bright rainbow.”

DSC_1512

I nodded. I wouldn’t admit it out loud, but I really did feel like a faded rainbow. All the color and sparkle had gone out of my life two years ago, when Mom and Dad died.

DSC_1513

I looked at my drawing again. I thought it was rather pretty.

“This was so fun!” I said enthusiastically on a sudden impulse. “We should do this again sometime!”

DSC_1514

Saige raised her hands over her head in victory. “YES! That is exactly what I was waiting for!!”

THE END =)

12 thoughts on “Bonding with a Cave of Despair Escapee

  1. Pingback: Dollhouse Tour ~ Part 1 | Happy House of AG

  2. Pingback: Flashback — January 2015 | Happy House of AG

Leave a reply (Your email won't be published).

