Scientific Savannah

DSC_0527

Hello everyone. It’s me.

Now, I know it sounds bad. Like, really, really, REALLY bad. I mean, Scientific Savannah? I am not “scientific.” At all.

But somehow I found myself getting pulled into a science experiment. Literally, pulled. I was the closest doll to Loren at the time, so I was pulled from her room and forced to be “scientific.”

DSC_0528

Ahem. Along with my “lab partner” Emily.

We’re not quite sure what Emily is. So far, what we do know is that she is a furry, not-so-bright mystery of science. She is usually very cute, but at the moment she has her serious face on, because she is so intrigued by our experiment.

Our experiment is making a cloud in a beaker.

DSC_0508

First we put shaving cream into a beaker that was filled with cold water. The shaving cream was made into the shape of a cloud.

DSC_0509

Oh my, yum yum. I have always wanted to . . . eat shaving cream. It smells edible. It looks edible. It also looks like whipped cream and is fun to play with so why SHOULDN’T I eat it?!?!

DSC_0516

We-e-el, anyway, back on topic, I put blue food coloring on top of my cloud.

DSC_0520

Now I just have to wait! The shaving cream cloud is supposed to get heavy because of the food dye, and then the blue will come out the bottom of the cloud and we will have rain!

DSC_0522

*after waiting for like two minutes*

Oh, what’s that? Is it a little bit of rain?

It is! It is! Our experiment is working!!

DSC_0523

Well, OK, it didn’t really work. The rain shot out in little bursts from the cloud, and then floated back up to the bottom of the cloud. Loren’s mom thinks it’s because there was alcohol in the shaving cream, and alcohol is lighter than water (or so she says) , so it separated.

DSC_0524

Then we put the beaker on the woodstove, so that, um . . . (hey, Loren. Um, why did we do that again? *whisper whisper whisper*) Oh yeah, that’s right! We put the beaker on the woodstove so that the water would warm up, doing something that I forget. Loren, I am SO not scientific!!

DSC_0525

I think that the heat did whatever it was supposed to do, ’cause we got some rain! You can’t see it very well in this picture, but the light blue, wispy streaks in the water are rain.

DSC_0526

And then, blah blah blah, PHOTOBOMB!!

 Later we tried the experiment again, but used whipped cream instead of shaving cream. The results were much better. We actually got our rain! Plus,the cloud tasted amazing — Loren and I ate cloud :)

Would you rather have cotton candy clouds or whipped cream clouds?

~ Savannah

18 thoughts on “Scientific Savannah

  1. Pingback: Flashback — February 2015 | Happy House of AG

Leave a reply (Your email won't be published).

