What Happens When Someone Knocks on Our Front Door

*This was inspired by Emma‘s photostory series ‘Eden’*

DSC_0001

Caroline opened the front door. Standing on the porch was a girl.

DSC_0002

With her sunglasses and simple but chic outfit, she looked like a movie star going incognito.

DSC_0003

Beside her was a stack of suitcases.

DSC_0004

“Can I help you?” Caroline inquired.

DSC_0005

“Yeah. I’m staying here for a few days,” the girl replied, shifting her weight from one foot to the other.

DSC_0006

“Mom didn’t tell me anyone was staying with us,” Caroline said. “So . . .”

DSC_0007

“You’re Caroline Abbott, right?” the girl asked.

DSC_0008

“I am, but how . . . how did you know that?” Caroline stuttered.

DSC_0009

Just then, Saige, Isabelle and Savannah came up behind Caroline. They had been playing a game, yelling about princesses, elves, fire and ice.

“Who’s she?” asked Savannah.

Caroline looked at the new comer pointedly. “What’s your name?”

DSC_0010

She pushed the sunglasses up on top of her head. “You can call me MJ.”

~~Told in MJ’s POV~~

DSC_0011

The redhead made strangled sounds, like she was hyperventilating. “You’re not the Mary-Jane Alina Grace Valdez, are you?!” she practically shouted at me.

DSC_0012

I grinned. “The one and only.”

DSC_0013

She rushed out onto the porch. “What are you doing here?! It’s not everyday that a celebrity shows up at our doorstep!”

DSC_0014

“I’m supposed to be staying here for a few days,” I told her. “I need a place to stay until the next show in my world tour.”

DSC_0015

The other girls — one with blonde hair, one with dark hair, and Caroline — followed the redhead onto the porch and picked up my luggage.

DSC_0016

When we got inside, Caroline exclaimed, “This is such a surprise. Another sister already!”

DSC_0017

“I’m, uh, not your sister,” I said hesitantly. “I’m just staying her for a few days, remember?”

“Oh, right.”

DSC_0018

Caroline introduced me to the three other girls, pointing to each in turn. “This is Isabelle Palmer, Savannah Kingsley, and Saige Copeland.”

DSC_0019

I followed Caroline and her sisters to the dollhouse. We climbed one flight of stairs to the second floor.

DSC_0020

“Well, here we are,” Caroline announced. “This will be your room while you stay with us. I’ll go get a bed for you.”

DSC_0021

“This is gonna be so cool!” Saige exclaimed. “I get to share my room with MJ Valdez!” She did a little happy dance.

DSC_0022

Caroline came back into the room with a bed, and dropped the blankets onto the floor. “It’s a tight squeeze, but it’ll work.”

DSC_0023

The bed opened up for storage. I started unpacking my suitcases.

DSC_0024

Saige was perched on her bed right next to me. She oohed and aahed over my clothes.

DSC_0025

“That one’s cute,” she commented as I set my first outfit down.

DSC_0026

“Thanks. I like to wear it when I bake.”

“You like baking? You should teach me!”

DSC_0027

I reached for my second suitcase.

DSC_0028

I unpacked my pajamas and a casual outfit, and set them in the storage space in the bed.

DSC_0030

Saige gushed about everything that was in my last suitcase: earrings, a clothes hanger, hair brush and hair spray, violin music books and my charm bracelet.

DSC_0031

Since I was done unpacking, I set up a music stand.

DSC_0032

I opened the instrument case I had carried around with me all day.

DSC_0033

I pulled out my violin and bow.

DSC_0034

And then, I started practicing.

DSC_0035

Saige clapped when I finished playing. “That was amazing!” she praised.

DSC_0036

I smiled as I placed the violin back in its case. “Thanks, Saige.”

DSC_0037

We flopped on my bed and started talking. After a minute, Saige said, “I wish you didn’t have to leave, MJ.”

DSC_0038

Tears pricked the corners of my eyes as I realized that I didn’t really want to leave, either.

~~~~~~

Bwahaha! You all guessed wrong on my last post. OK, well, I guess most of you got it right . . . I did get Grace, but she doesn’t go by that name . . . she goes by Mary-Jane Alina Grace Valdez! And . .. I didn’t get any pictures of the AG store. I know, I know, what kind of blogger am I, not taking any picture of the AG store? A very “special” or “unique” one. Those words are actually just nice ways of saying “weird.”

Yeah . . .

Well, um, that’s all!

–Loren

19 thoughts on “What Happens When Someone Knocks on Our Front Door

  1. WOW! Long name! Congrats on Grace – she is soooooo super cute. I’m thinking of asking for her for Christmas, but I really want a long blonde-haired doll, but then I want #33 even more….arrg, decisions decisions!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. that was a great story loren I love the new name for grace I got grace and I named her Nicole but Nicole is really her middle name but it is her favorite sooooooo ya

    Like

  3. Pingback: 2015 Recap | Happy House of AG

  4. Pingback: Flashback — February 2015 | Happy House of AG

Leave a reply (Your email won't be published).

