Mastering WordPress: a Simple Way to Get More Blog Views

Ways to get more blog views

WordPress logo via

I’ve been blogging for almost two years, and in that time, I’ve learned many blog-related tricks. Today, I decided to share one simple way to ensure that your WordPress blog gets more page views.

01-Following ‹ Reader — WordPress.com - Mozilla Firefox 12222015 44019 PM

Posts from blogs you follow show up in your WordPress Reader. Most of the time, if you click the title of the post, you can read it right then and there without ever having to actually visit the site it was originally published on.

As far as I’m concerned, your blog doesn’t get any page views when people look at your posts in the Reader. So how do you get your followers to visit your site?

edit1

Go to your blog. Up in the black bar on the top of the screen, there is a chart that shows you your blog’s views per hour. Click on the chart.

edit2

It will take you to your Stats screen. On the left side is an area where you can access themes, posts, settings, etc. Scroll down in that area, and you will find at the bottom a button with the words “WP Admin” on it.

edit3

Click on WP Admin, and you will find yourself at the WordPress Dashboard. Scroll down, and near the bottom of the black section on the left is a button called “Settings.” Hold your mouse over that, then locate “Reading.”

edit4

Once you scroll down on the Reading page for a bit, you’ll find the option we’re looking for — “For each article in feed, show:” This setting affects what your posts will look like when the appear in the WordPress Reader.

There are two options: “Full text” and “Summary.”

Remember, at the moment, people can read your entire post in the reader. That’s what it means by “Full text.”

Click on “Summary,” and then press the Save button at the bottom of the page.

edit6

Now go back to the Reader. Your posts will have a neat little link on them that goes directly to your blog.

11-Fullscreen capture 12222015 44652 PM

Even if one of your followers clicks on the title of the post, the link will still be there, and there will only be part of your post available to read. In order to read the full post, your followers are going to have to visit your blog.

Guess what happens next? Blog views galore!

After I turned on the “Summary” option awhile back, my page views instantly started to go steadily up.

 Try this option out, and I’m sure your blog will get many more page views!

Do you have any requests that you’d like me to cover in the next installment of Mastering WordPress?

–Loren

32 thoughts on “Mastering WordPress: a Simple Way to Get More Blog Views

  1. Someone told me that views count on the reader views too, but I guess not! I really like this because then your viewers can see your blog widgets and pages and stuff. 😀
    Maybe how to change your gravatar? Some people might find that helpful. Or… Categories and Tags!

    Like

  2. Great advice! Could you please check out my blog? I’m trying to 50 followers by January 3rd, including email followers. Please go to mydolldays.blogspot.com for more details. Thank you so much!
    Bella

    Like

  3. This is a good way to get more page views, but I just want to point out that it isn’t particularly reader friendly. I think some people might not read a post because it doesn’t look interesting enough to click the link. That might seem hard to believe, but if someone just wants to skim a post, then they might not want to get out of their email or reader to go to the blog. If they want to go to the blog, then they will. Granted, I’d say that most people will click the link, but, there might be a few people that won’t. I hope you don’t find this mean at all, because I definitely don’t want to sound that way. I just wanted to point out a different point of view. 🙂
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a very good point! It’s quite true as well. I was just trying to help other bloggers get more views.

      Perhaps I’ll have to do a post in the future about how to attract new readers. 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your opinion!

      Liked by 3 people

  4. So cool! I blogged for about a year and a half and after that I was out of space on WordPress! I couldn’t figure out how people who posted more frequently than myself had space. Until I had done some further digging I didn’t know that it saves TONS of space to re size pictures. I think it might be helpful to tell/show people that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Also, If you have already done this to your blog, you can click the little sign that looks like a road when you are making a post. If you put it after like, that first paragraph it will cut it off at the first paragraph on your blog’s homepage and then people can click ‘continue reading. This will get you even more views because people won’t just read all the posts on the homepage. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply (Your email won't be published).

