Photos of GOTY 2016 Lea Clark

Hi! Happy New Year!

I just got back from the AG Place in D.C., and the first thing I did was take some pictures of my brand new Lea Clark doll! Enjoy. 🙂

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark - hair color

Lea’s hair isn’t all the same color. It’s blonde, and has some caramel and light brown mixed in. It’s parted on the side.

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark - hair length

Her hair — which is incredibly soft, by the way — goes down to her hips, and forms loose curls.

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark - eyes

I’m pretty sure that Lea has unique eyes. They’re ringed in black, and are hazel with a bit of brown in them.

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark

As far as I can tell, Lea Clark has the Josefina face mold, with Grace Thomas’s thick, feathered eyebrows.

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark

GOTY 2016 Lea Clark is $120. For that amount, you get the doll, her first book, Lea Dives In, a compass necklace, and a messenger bag.

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark -- compass necklace

Here is her compass necklace. The arrow really spins!

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark -- messenger bag

Lea’s messenger bag.

Lea Clark and Grace Thomas comparison

Her skin is darker than the skin of my other dolls. This is a comparison between Lea Clark and MJ (Grace Thomas). You can see how similar their face shape is, as well as the difference in the color of their skin.

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark - skin comparison

Another look at their skin. MJ (Grace) is on the left, Lea is on the right.

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark - no strings

Sadly, the rumor is true: Lea Clark has no strings. American Girl replaced the strings on the Lea dolls with zip-ties. I was afraid that the zip-ties would make her head harder to move, and I was right. It takes some effort to make Lea’s head move.

American Girl GOTY Lea Clark

Overall, I am very glad to have gotten the new Girl of the Year, Lea Clark. I’ll be doing a more in-depth review of her soon, as well as pictures from her debut. 🙂

I want to rename her, but I don’t have very many ideas. Two names that I’m currently thinking about are Phoebe and Megan. Any name suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

–Loren

101 thoughts on “Photos of GOTY 2016 Lea Clark

  1. DEAL BREAKER. My kids are not getting Lea as pretty as she is because of no neck strings. Her dress looks very cheaply made as well. We are all mad! Grace was lovely in comparison, but we thought her outfit was a bit cheaply made as well in comparison with dolls with beautiful in the past like Lanie, Marisol, Kanani, and Saige. My 12 year old friend said AG are getting to be like the Target Dolls now. UGH.I agree. Lea is so pretty, too bad, just a bit more money invested on neck strings and a better quality outfit. I guess I will chalk up the $300 and get my daughter an ebay Kanani instead. That stinks, it’s a real deal breaker. What is wrong American Girl? It’s the biggest gripe amongst the 6 to 13 year old kids today in our scout group. That’s how I heard about it! And Mama, is mad! Come on AG. What is the difference between you and Target now?

    Like

Leave a reply (Your email won't be published).

